NSF Math and Science Partnership (MSP)

Home Page Current MSP Solicitation: 14-522 Next MSP Proposal Deadline: March 18, 2014 Recent MSP Awards

QEM Network provides technical assistance to minority-serving higher education institutions and schools in preparing competitive proposals to NSF’s Math and Science Partnership (MSP) program. The MSP program is a major research and development effort that supports innovative partnerships to improve K-12 student achievement in mathematics and science. MSP projects are expected to raise the achievement levels of all students and significantly reduce achievement gaps in the science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) performance of diverse student populations. All STEM fields supported by NSF may be involved in this work, with special encouragement to areas that are gaining increased traction at the K-12 level, such as computer science and engineering, in addition to mathematics and science. MSP projects also serve as models that have a sufficiently strong evidence/research base to improve STEM education outcomes for all students. (See more at MSP program page.)

Description of Most Recent QEM/MSP Workshop:
With NSF support, QEM Network conducted a Math and Science Partnership (MSP) Program Proposal Development Workshop on January 20-21, 2012, at the Four Points by Sheraton Hotel in Baltimore, MD. The workshop assisted participating teams in further developing their ideas for Targeted Partnership or Research, Evaluation and Technical Assistance (RETA) proposals that they are planning to submit to the MSP program.

The NSF QEM/MSP grant provided support for the participation of three-person institutional teams from minority-serving institutions with accredited teacher education programs. Teams consisted of a mathematics, science, or engineering faculty member from a higher education institution; an official representative of a school district in proximity to the institution; and a member of the institution’s teacher education faculty. Prior to the Workshop, participating teams were required to submit a one-page summary to QEM of their proposed MSP projects. The project summaries were used during the workshop to provide feedback to the teams in small group discussions led by MSP Program Officers, QEM senior staff, and consultants.

MOST RECENT QEM MSP WORKSHOPS

Location
Date
Agenda
Baltimore, MD
October 19-20, 2012
Baltimore, MD
January 20-21, 2012
Baltimore, MD
May 20-21, 2010

NSF Contacts:

Kathleen Bergin email: kbergin@nsf.gov
Maura Borrego, email: mborrego@nsf.gov
Pamela Brown, email: pbrown@nsf.gov
Ron Buckmire, email: rbuckmir@nsf.gov
Louis Everett, email: leverett@nsf.gov
James Hamos, email: jhamos@nsf.gov
Don Millard, email: dmillard@nsf.gov
Richard Peterson, email: rpeterso@nsf.gov
Joan Prival, email: jprival@nsf.gov
Elizabeth VanderPutten, email: evanderp@nsf.gov