Robert Noyce Teacher Scholarship (NOYCE) Program

Most recent proposal deadline, March 5, 2014

Between January 2010 and December 2011, QEM implemented three proposal development workshops to prepare faculty at minority-serving institutions to submit competitive proposals to the National Science Foundation (NSF)’s Robert Noyce Teacher Scholarship (NOYCE) Program. NOYCE, which is in the NSF Division of Undergraduate Education, seeks to encourage talented science, technology, engineering, and mathematics majors and professionals to become K-12 mathematics and science teachers.

The Noyce Scholarship Track provides funds to institutions of higher education to support scholarships, stipends, and academic programs for undergraduate STEM majors and post-baccalaureate students holding STEM degrees who earn a teaching credential and commit to teaching in high-need K-12 school districts.

The NSF Teaching Fellowship/Master Teaching Fellowship Track provides funding to support STEM professionals who enroll as NSF Teaching Fellows in master's degree programs leading to teacher certification by providing academic courses, professional development, and salary supplements while they are fulfilling a four-year teaching commitment in a high-need school district (visit the NOYCE program page at the NSF website for more information).

Both the Noyce Scholarship and Noyce Teaching Fellowship/Master Teaching Fellowship Tracks provide support for capacity building projects. Capacity Building projects provide an opportunity for an institution to develop the infrastructure and partnerships for a future Noyce scholarship or teaching fellowship project.

QEM NOYCE proposal development workshops provide faculty with information such as NSF merit review criteria; the components and characteristics of competitive proposals; teacher preparation; on-campus collaborations between STEM faculty and K-12 science and mathematics educators; and evaluation. Visit the links in the table below to see the agendas for each workshop. The agendas contain links to presentations given by NSF program officers and by QEM consultants and staff.

MOST RECENT QEM/NSF NOYCE WORKSHOPS

Location
Date
Agenda
Baltimore, MD
December 13-14, 2013
Baltimore, MD
December 7-8, 2012
Albuquerque, NM
December 9-10, 2011
Washington, DC
January 29-30, 2010
New Orleans, LA
December 10-11, 2010

NSF Contacts:


Joan T. Prival, Lead Program Director, email: jprival@nsf.gov

Nicole Bennett, email: nbennett@nsf.gov

Kathleen B. Bergin, email: kbergin@nsf.gov

Amy B. Chan Hilton, email: achanhil@nsf.gov

Katherine J. Denniston, email: kdennist@nsf.gov

Gregory Goins, email: ggoins@nsf.gov

John Haddock, email: jhaddock@nsf.gov

Michael Jacobson, email: mjacobso@nsf.gov

Herbert H. Richtol, email: hrichtol@nsf.gov

Terry S. Woodin, email: twoodin@nsf.gov

Lidia C. Yoshida, email: lyoshida@nsf.gov